Skip to content

Jane Roper talks about her new book, DOUBLE TIME

February 16, 2012
by

Jane Roper, author of Eden Lake, talks about her voice, her busy schedule, and her upcoming book Double Time.

 

You do so much: writing novels, non-fiction, blogging, copywriting, and editing. How do you get all that done, and what do you do in your spare time?

Spare time? Never heard of it! Between writing and work and family, there’s precious little, but when I do have free time, chances are I’m reading. Or sleeping. As for how I get it all done, I guess I’m fairly good at time management, and I’m fortunate that I can work freelance as a copywriter, as opposed to full time, so I can make room for my “other” writing. Also, I drink way too much coffee.

 

Eden Lake, your previous novel, was published with Last Light, while Double Time is coming out from Saint Martin’s press. What were your experiences getting a new agent and selling your book?

It all happened remarkably quickly! Once I put together what I felt was a strong proposal, I contacted a few agents, all of whom were the agents of writer friends of mine, which facilitated the process somewhat. Two offered representation, and I chose Henry Dunow, who’s not only a wonderful agent but a father of twins himself, so he really “got” the book on a whole other level. Once we finalized the proposal, he got it out there amazingly quickly, and within a couple of weeks we had an offer. Things don’t usually go this fast when it comes to trying to get a book published.

 

What can readers look forward to in Double Time?

It’s a memoir of my pregnancy and first three years as a mother of twins, as well as my struggles with clinical depression and my (impossible) quest to “have it all” during that time. It’s a little funny, a little serious — seriocomic. (Is that a word?)  I basically wrote the book I wish I’d had when I found out I was pregnant with twins. I’m hopeful that expectant and new moms of twins, and mothers who’ve experienced the immense challenge of parenting through depression will relate to a lot of it.

Jane Roper

Photo: Mara Brod

 

Your narrative voice is often infused with a subtle sense of comedy. Where did that come from?

Thank you! It’s taken me a long time to find that voice, and of course, it’s still a work in progress. As to where it comes from, I’ve always enjoyed reading things that are witty or funny so I suppose I’ve unconsciously emulated that. Mostly, though, I think it’s just a reflection of my personality. I can’t help seeing the humor in things—and often have to restrain myself from making jokes at inappropriate moments. (Not that I always succeed).

 

What are your plans for future projects?

At the moment, I’m working hard on essays and guest posts and interviews to promote Double Time. But once the dust settles a bit, I want to get going on another novel. God knows if or when I’ll ever finish it, but it’s been klunking around in my head for a while now, so I need to get it down on paper.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

